Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

IntroReview:
I truly enjoyed Seraphina and the Black Cloak. I found it fast paced, well-developed, and just plain interesting. Robert Beatty created characters that were original and knowable. It was quite entertaining reading a book set at Biltmore Estate, the home of George Vanderbilt.

I recommend that parents read the book prior to recommending it for their child. The publisher’s recommended reading age of 8-12 is too young in my opinion. I wouldn’t want my young child to read this as it is a dark story.  Beatty’s book is reminiscent of the fairy tales written by the Brothers Grimm and the Early Disney film adaptations.  Snow White….scared me as a kid!  You will enjoy the “research” and when you deem it appropriate for your child they are going to love it too.

I received an advanced reader copy (ARC) in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. My thanks to the author and publisher.

Leave a Reply

