Soulblade by Lindsay Buroker

Author: Lindsay Buroker
Series:  Dragon Blood, no 7
Category: Fantasy
Publisher: Author Published
Release Date: December 22, 2015
My Rating: 4 stars


It’s been a week since the dragon Morishtomaric fell, and Sardelle is not convinced that Ridge is truly gone. With a companion who thinks he’s a god and a soldier who would happily kill her, she heads back to the mountains to look for signs that Ridge survived. What they uncover threatens to destroy their country and all they care about.

Meanwhile, the Cofah emperor is furious with Iskandia over the loss of its airships and still has a bounty on Tolemek’s head. King Angulus sends Tolemek, Cas, and Kaika on a daring mission that could solve both problems… or leave them all dead.


General Ridge Zirkander is lost after a catastrophic plane crash in the Ice Blades and the conflict with the Cofah is continuing to keep the Iskandean resources engaged. King Angulus is fully occupied with this conflict. No one besides Sardelle and her soulblade, who jokingly calls Ridge Sardelle’s “soul snozzle,” believes that Ridge could have survived the wreck. In spite of the doubt Sardelle is fully determined to search for him. Reluctantly King Angulus gives her one flyer and the help of Colonel Therrik, a very cranky pilot who is in possession of Kasandral, his dragon and sorceress hating sword. Bharava Saruth, a gold dragon, joins the group as he has proclaimed Sardelle his high priestess.

I always like to share my favorite character.  This time it is the dragon Bhrava Saruth.

On another front King Angulus sends his best pilots off to kidnap the Cofah emperor as he is vulnerable while in attendance at his daughters arranged marriage (she provides a few twists and turns of her own and is a great new character). Thus begins an adventure on two fronts.

Soulblade is full of sorceresses, dragons, royalty, swamps, bizarre and incredibly dangerous wildlife, rope bridges, and humor (often ribald). I found Soulblade to be the most exciting, fast-paced, action-packed story in the Dragon Blood series.

I have genuinely fallen in love with the characters populating this world throughout their seven book existence. It’s hard to let them go but it is time. All good things must end and all great heroes deserve a rest at some point. I couldn’t think of a better end to a fantastic series. Mini spoiler here so cover your eyes… it ends with a couch.

The adventure is not all over though. Don’t miss the opportunity to delve further into the same world and get to know Colonel Therrik better in Buroker’s just released book Shattered Past.  Buroker has also given us some bonus scenes; four to date.

You should definitely read books 1-6 before you delve into Soulblade.  You can dive into Shattered Past right away though if you haven’t read the Dragon Blood series.

I received a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. My thanks to the author Lindsay Buroker.

The books in the Dragon Blood series:
1. Balanced on the Blade’s Edge
2. Deathmaker
3. Blood Charged
4. Patterns in the Dark
5. The Blade’s Memory
6. Raptor
7. Souldblade

About the Author

lindsay burokerHere is the relatively bland Amazon version:

Lindsay is a full-time independent fantasy author who loves travel, hiking, tennis, and vizslas. She grew up in the Seattle area but moved to Arizona when she realized she was solar-powered.

Buroker’s version on her website is quite humorous and indicative of her stories.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s